Presidential Message


This year’s Region VIII CRC was held last month in Cancun.  As the Alternate Delegate and Delegate, John Ferencak and I took one for the Alamo Chapter team and made the trek all the way there.  It was rough, but we did what you elected us to do and made sure our chapter was represented.  (Actually, it was rough.  We spent a lot more time in meetings than we did with our toes in the sand.  Somehow, though, I don’t think you’re feeling sorry for us.)  Anyway, it was a great event, and one that all ASHRAE members are welcome and encouraged to attend.  And our chapter walked away with a couple of awards!  Congrats to Chris Delgado for receiving a Special Citation for the 2017-2018 PAOE Awards, and congrats to Brad Gilbert for winning the Gold Treasury Ribbon for Research Promotions!!  Congrats, too, to our neighbors up IH-35!  The Austin Chapter won the Golden Gavel Award this year!  It’s finally back in Texas!  (But it almost wasn’t.  Apparently, airport security takes notice when you try to take a golden hammer onto an airplane in your carry-on bag.)

Please join us for this month’s meeting next Tuesday, May 21, at the Alamo Drafthouse Park North.  This month’s topic is Basic Electrical for Mechanical and HVAC Systems.  See the meeting announcement for more details.

To keep with tradition, we’ll wrap up this Alamo ASHRAE year with our ethics meeting in June.  Attorney James Rosenblatt will be our presenter, and he’ll be discussing contract law with us. 

See you soon!

Rick McHugh, P.E.


On Thursday 3/7/19 the Alamo ASHRAE chapter sponsored STEM night at Helotes Elementary.  There were over 100 students and parents in attendance.  There were seven activities for the students to participated in, build a catapult, marshmallow shooters, Magnet madness, Straw airplanes, balancing robots, Coding, and building a parachute.  We had several volunteers at each station thanks to volunteers from the ALAMO chapter as well UTSA’s student chapter.  The event was quite the success and we had several raving reviews.  Thanks to all that volunteered and all the helped to make the event a success.

This web site is maintained by the ASHRAE San Antonio Chapter. It does not present official positions of ASHRAE nor reflect ASHRAE policy. ASHRAE Chapters may not act for ASHRAE, and the information presented here has not had ASHRAE review. To learn more about ASHRAE activities at the national level, visit the ASHRAE home page at For questions or comments on this website, please contact the Webmaster - Madison Bryer. This site was last updated on 08/09/2016.